LTC-16 2018 (pdf)

Download

LICENSE TO CARRY (LTC) TEXAS

A Major federal government study found that 40% of imprisoned felons had decided not to commit one or more crimes out of fear that their prospective victims were armed.      


Between 2007-11 there were over 235,700 defensive shootings to stop violent crimes. (National Crime Victimization Survey). That's almost 60,000 a year. That's 5,000 a month or 167 a day! Remember that over that time only about 35 states had concealed handgun licensing. In Texas there are just over 6 defensive shootings to stop violent crimes a day!      


Firearms are used in self-defense approximately 2.5 million times a year.  This includes shootings, non shooting crime stops and deterred crime.  That's almost 7,000 a day. (Gary Kleck, award winning Florida State University criminologist)      


There is an all time high over 12.8 million concealed carry permit holders and an overall decrease in murder and violent crime.  Violent crime rates are lower in the 25 states with the highest permit rates. (Crime Prevention Research Center). United States concealed carry permit holders are convicted of crimes at a lower rate than even law enforcement officers.




COURSE DESCRIPTION: 

This course complies with all of the Texas Department of Public Safety requirements for a Texas License To Carry (LTC). This is not a Shooting Training Course. The only Range work is the DPS mandated LTC Qualification Course. If you do not have prior pistol experience or believe you may not qualify please contact Viper Weapons Training about the Basic Handgun Course first (see courses for description). The two courses may be combined if coordinated in advance.  


TRAINING OVERVIEW: 

Classroom Instruction in how to Apply for a LTC, Legal Aspects and Use of Force, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, What to do if involved in a Shooting, Safe Handling and Storage of Firearms and Basic handgun skills.  Includes the LTC Written Test, Range instruction in Safety, Weapons Familiarity, and LTC Qualification shooting course. No shooting training or practice is accomplished unless this course is combined with the Basic Handgun Course.  


COST:  

$80 per Student, Check or Cash  


TIME: 

4-5 Hours classroom instruction and 1 hour range shooting.  


LOCATION: 

Any local range  in the Houston Area


MAXIMUM # OF STUDENTS PER CLASS: 

Unlimited for Classroom   


WHATS PROVIDED: 

Classroom Instruction with Training Pistols, Range Safety Instruction and LTC-100 at course completion  


WHAT STUDENT NEEDS TO PROVIDE: 

Range Fee, Pistol, 100 rounds, Eye/Ear Protection, Shirt with Sleeves and Collar, Full shoes

LTC UPCOMING CLASSES


We have several group and private LTC courses scheduled this month

Email us  to set up a private group LTC class or to find out exact dates for other upcoming  LTC courses.   ViperWeaponsTraining@gmail.com         


NEXT PUBLIC LTC COURSES


DATE:               Saturday June 6th

TIME:               11 AM-4 PM

LOCATION:     SAMANOS HOBBIES   

                          903-H  FM 518, KEMAH  TX

COST:               $80  CASH, CHECK or VENMO

SIGN UP:          ViperWeaponsTraining@gmail.com


DATE:              TBD June

TIME:               11 AM-4 PM

LOCATION:     3rd COAST ORDNANCE 12002 TX-146, SAN LEON TX 77539

COST:              $80 CASH, CHECK or VENMO

SIGN UP:         Viperweaponstraining@gmail.com

                         or contact 3CO  (281) 702-1689 to reserve a seat


DATE:              TBD  

LOCATION:     BATTLE RIFLE COMPANY    17313 El Camino Real, HOUSTON TX 77058

TIME:               1030 AM - 3 PM

COST:              $80 CASH, CHECK or VENMO

SIGN UP:         Viperweaponstraining@gmail.com   

                         or contact BRC (281) 777-0316 to reserve a seat


The shooting qualification portion of the course will be scheduled after completion of the academics and test.  We will proceed to the range after the course for those who are available.

LTC APPLICATION PROCESS

To Apply for a State of Texas License To Carry Handgun please accomplish the following steps.       


1. Apply on-line:    https://www.texasonline.state.tx.us/txapp/txdps/ltc/   

Application is valid for 1 year from date of payment.   

Renew your LTC  at this  link as well.


2. After your application, schedule your fingerprints from the DPS website or at: DPS Fingerprint Services  They are valid till application expires.   Fingerprints and photos are electronically sent to DPS.   


3. Take an approved LTC Course and receive an LTC-100 course completion form.      


4. After you have submitted your application send in all required documentation to include the LTC-100 to: 

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/contact/default.aspx   

Select “Handgun Licensing” from the drop down 

Select “Submit LTC-100” from the drop down 

Fill out the asterisk items 

Browse your computer for the LTC-100 and other required documents, 

Attach and Submit Form    


If you have taken an approved on-line LTC course  you require both:

1. 1-2 hours of in person classroom instruction

2. LTC shooting qualification course

Please contact us to set up your private instruction to complete your LTC requirements.


If you have any application questions please don’t hesitate to ask us or DPS (phone number: 512 424-7293)    

Currently applications are taking less than 8 weeks for delivery after the entire process described above is complete.   

For LTC students inquiring about the status of their application, please visit online at    www.dps.texas.gov   

Handgun Licensing, Online Services.